Seared Pepper Steak with Pimiento Chimichurri

Just the other week Sam and were debating if there is such a thing as ‘pepper beef’ or is the proper term ‘pepper steak’? I was pretty insistent on the latter and Sam was sure he had seen the former on packaging. Well, low and behold when I went to cook one of the Grow and Behold packages of meat in my freezer it was labeled “Pepper Beef Steak.” So we were both right!

I learned another new thing when I opened the package and found a very long thin accordion of meat. In my mind pepper steak comes in small cut strips you would throw into a stir fry. However, this was a 15 inch long by 5 inch wide length of meat. I needed some help on how to prepare this properly so went to the Epicurious app on my iphone. I found some recipes that told me to slice the pepper steak into 4 inch wide ‘steaks’ and then sear in a very hot pan in a bit of oil after heavily seasoning the steak with – you guessed it pepper.

After this instant education, as I was cooking the meat, I continued my recipe search on the app for a good sauce to serve with it. A few items caught my eye but then the meat was done and I had to take a taste. Even though I was too impatient to let it finish resting, I realized I had another situation where the meat was so good it didn’t really need any sauce. But I already had the ingredients assembled for a unique chimichurri sauce recipe I had flagged on Epicurious (with a substitution of cilantro for basil). A chimichurri is a thick herb, olive oil, vinegar sauce popular in Latin cultures (it’s their version of ketchup) and often served with grilled meat. This particular version called for the addition of pimientos, artichoke hearts and Dijon mustard – a delicious and welcome twist. Served on a bed of diced browned onions it’s meat perfection.

Seared Pepper Steak with Pimiento Chimichurri   
Adapted from a recipe from Epicurious.com

1 package of Grow and Behold Pepper Beef Steak
Salt
Pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
4 ounce jar of chopped pimientos (roasted red peppers)
4 ounces of canned artichoke hearts (not marinated in anything)
2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1.5 tsps balsamic vinegar
¼ tsp Dijon mustard
¼ tsp sugar
¾ tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
2 tbs olive oil
1 onion, diced

Slice the meat into about four strips of 4 inch lengths. Sprinkle lightly with salt and heavily with pepper on both sides.

Preheat a cast iron skillet over medium high heat with 1 tbsp of olive oil. Add the slices of meat and sear for 5 minutes on each side. Allow meat to rest, loosely covered with tin foil for 10 minutes, then slice.

Brown the diced onion in the cast iron skillet, adding a bit of olive oil if necessary.
In the meantime prepare the chimichurri by combining the pimientos, cilantro, garlic cloves, balsamic vinegar, Dijon mustard, sugar, salt, black pepper and olive oil in a medium bowl.

Slice the beef against the grain or serve in 4 inch strips dressed with the chimichurri.

Leave a Reply

